Organic Worship

After visiting my aunt, uncle, and cousins in California, my wife and I decided to jump on the “organic” bandwagon.  My west coast family is very health conscious, so everything that was produced organically was typically purchased over its hormone-injected alternative.  To me, the only difference is the price, but I am told that the long term effects will be well worth it.  In other words, I can’t really tell the difference.

On the side panel of my organic raisin bran it says that “organic foods are grown without the use of synthetic pesticides, chemical fertilizers or genetically engineered ingredients.”  According to my grocery bill, organic foods cost about $40 more each week.  I will admit, I can tell the taste difference in some items like strawberries and blueberries, but the cereal tastes like card board.  That could also be because I was raised on Frosted Flakes, Fruit Loops, and Lucky Charms which is the same as eating candy for breakfast.

Yesterday I wrote about authentic worship, so that subject was still on my mind this morning as I poured a bowl of organic cereal with organic skim milk.  The biggest draw that most people have to eating organic food is that it has less fake stuff in it – fewer chemicals.  I have also learned over the past three months, that it takes a lot of trust in the system to eat organic food.  For instance, the organic bananas I eat are typically from Central America.  How can I be 100% certain that some farmer didn’t just slap an organic sticker on a non-organic banana?  Well, I can’t.

In college, I quickly learned that people could see right through another person’s facade.  All the awards and recognitions that I earned in high school meant absolutely nothing to my peers in college.  Freshman year was turning point in our lives where we realized that we didn’t have to put up a front, we could be ourselves, be real with each other, and still have a great time.

The Church is the same way.  Of all the places where we should be encouraged to be real, we keep our struggles, problems, and questions to ourselves and act like everything is “fine.”  One of the biggest reasons why non-believers stay outside the church is because they see “fake” written all over it.

People want to see something real.  They want to see real worship.  We are broken, sinful people – that is why Church is important.  When we go to church to get credit or simply to be seen, then it is all an act.  Our worship in that case is synthetic and chemically engineered.  There’s nothing organic about it.

What does organic worship look like to you?

One comment

  1. Good stuff. I suppose to me, organic worship wouldn’t have a specific “look,” per se, but would “feel” more like one-on-one interaction with God and set aside judgments about those who are singing too loud, off key or not at all. As long as it’s coming from a real place that’s all God wants.

    Oh, and Deb has us going fully organic now. She even bought organic beef broth to pour over Bauer’s dog food.

Leave a Reply

