On Prayer

Ever since I entered the Age of Accountability, the point in every young Christian’s life when he/she is expected to understand the eternal ramifications of his/her actions, I have been disappointed in my prayer life. Every time we were called to set spiritual resolutions, my first would always be to pray more. I didn’t know what that really meant. Pray more frequently? Pray longer? Nope. Just pray more.

There’s always room for improvement, I guess. That’s why people often use the phrase “spiritual growth” to describe our “journey” down the “narrow path.” It probably would not help me out to commit to praying less. I’m pretty sure God would not appreciate it if I refused to call Him less. I don’t think we can talk to God too much, but how much is too little?

Should I pray before every single meal? What about snacks (considering the amount of snacking I do, that might be a good idea)? Do I need to pray right before bed? First thing in the morning? Pray before and after the sermon? The answer is, “Sure.”

The frequency of our prayers it not necessarily the issue at hand. The focal point of the issue is the existence of prayer in our lives. Are we actually doing it? When we do pray, what do we usually say, ask for, or talk about? I think that is something that we can all try to do a little better. I mean, that’s how we talk to God. It’s how we keep the relationship…a relationship. But it’s still difficult, right?

For me, it helps to pray out loud. Typically, this works best in private. I don’t think your cubicle is the ideal location for this. Sometimes when I’m in my car, I turn off the radio, embrace the silence (or dull roar of the traffic), and talk to my windshield.

Try it today. Let me know how it goes.

Leave a Reply

