Just Waiting

“It’s not the healthy who need a doctor, but the sick.  I have not come to call the righteous, but sinners.”  Mark 2:17

I thought of the title for the blog while sitting in the waiting room of my dentist.  I had finished filling out the paper work, and since I did not feel like reading the current issues of Redbook and People, I did not have anything thing else to occupy my time.  Then I realized that I hadn’t checked Twitter in 13 minutes, so I made sure I was on top of all that is important in the world.  Unfortunately, there was nothing exciting going on, so my mind began to wander.
The waiting room was empty.  The receptionist doubled as a dental hygienist, so she was busy assisting with what sounded like a routine check-up.  No drills.  No yelling.  All seemed to be going well behind the door.  This was the second most perfect opportunity to daydream.  In case you are wondering, the best opportunity to daydream is in class (or at work, for the young professionals out there).  I had hoped for some outrageous adventure to pop into my head, but all I could think about was that Bible verse.  “It’s not the healthy who need a doctor…”
A few weeks prior, I had been having trouble breathing.  When I say, “having trouble,” it means that I could not breathe without coughing and feeling like someone was poking a needle into my lungs.  I called the doctor to set an appointment, but they were all booked up for the day: “We can see you tomorrow at 11:30.”  Then the lady on the phone asked my what my symptoms were.  I told her.  “Well, it looks like we can fit you in today.  Can you be here in about an hour?”  I guess when you can’t breathe, you get special privileges.  Come to find out, there still were no openings.  I had to wait for about 2 hours before the doctor had 7 minutes to spare to talk to me.  Nothing serious.  Bronchitis.  I was sick.
Most people don’t go to the doctor for fun.  We go when we are sick.  We go when we need a shot.  We go for a routine check-up.  “It’s not the healthy who need a doctor…”
We all need a doctor.  No matter what your position is on the sliding scale measuring faithfulness, we’re never 100%.  At times, we may think we are.  Then the rug gets pulled out from under us.  Where is our faith then?  Other times, the cumbersome weight of the world is resting on our shoulders.  Where is our faith then?  Nothing – no one – is perfect.  That’s why we all need a doctor.
One  of the biggest problems in the Church is the pride of people who act like they are healthy.  Nothing wrong here.  I’m fine.  I’m doing it right.  Some of us just don’t realize we’re sick, and we avoid those that are, creating one of the biggest issues in the Church today.  I’m better than you.  Ultimately, deep down within all of us in a sickening emptiness that cannot be ignored forever.
“It’s not the healthy who need a doctor…”
Leave a Reply

