Used

My junior year of high school, I went on a mission trip to Tegucigalpa, Honduras.  While walking through the grocery store, a Honduran man approached me and asked, “Are you from America.”  Luckily, he spoke English well, so I did not have to fumble through my Spanish flashcards.  I told him the purpose of my trip to his city, and he shared that he was a Christian, too.  His next question surprised me: “What is your spiritual gift?”  What a random question.  He put me on the spot.  I had to think about it for a second, and I finally said that I could sing.

“Wonderful!” he exclaimed.  Phew, I was off the hook.  I had a spiritual gift.  At this point it was time for me to get back on the bus with the rest of the youth group, so our conversation was cut short.  I never found out what his spiritual gift was, but I’m sure he’s still talking to people and helping them find their own spiritual gifts.  Maybe that’s his spiritual gift.

Of all the sermons that I have listened to, the ones that stand out to me the most are as follows: Repent: Jesus Is Coming Soon, Repent: God Is Watching, Flee from Temptation, No Sex before Marriage, Help Those in Need, and Spiritual Gifts.  For the sake of brevity, let’s simply discuss the last one today.

What are spiritual gifts?  In I Corinthians 12: 28 Paul writes, “And in the church God has appointed first of all apostles, second prophets, third teachers, then workers of miracles, also those having gifts of healing, those able to help others, those with gifts of administration, and those speaking in different kinds of tongues.”  While this is not an exhaustive list of spiritual gifts, we can all find something that we can do well for God.  Take your pick.

You may think, “Well, I can’t teach.  There’s no way I can perform miracles.  Healing is out of the question.  Administration – like answering phones and filing papers?  I don’t think so.”  Does it make you a bad Christian if you’re unable to teach and perform miracles?  Nope.  That simply means God does not expect to use you in that capacity.  There are plenty of great Christian writers today that are not blessed with the capacity to teach.  Their books are great and inspiring, but their sermons are weak-sauce.  We all have different gifts.  If you still struggle with this concept, read a little bit more of I Corinthians 12.

The important thing is that we offer ourselves to be used by God.  If you still don’t how God wants to use you, try helping others.  It’s a pretty open-ended job description.  According to I Peter 4:10-11, “Each one should use whatever gift he has received to serve others, faithfully administering God’s grace in its various forms…So that in all things God may be praised through Jesus Christ.  To him be the glory and the power forever and ever.  Amen.”  I added the bold type for emphasis.  Hopefully you picked that up.  Whatever gift…to serve…God may be praised.

It’s simple, but it’s not easy.  It takes a lot of faith to offer ourselves to God to be used by Him, especially when we don’t know how He intends to use us.  In reality, are we even giving Him the chance to use us?

How can you offer yourself to God to be used by Him?  What steps can you take to serve others?

Leave a Reply

