Psalm 139

“Where can I go from your Spirit?  Where can I flee from your presence?  I praise you because I am fearfully and wonderfully made; your works are wonderful, I know that full well.”  Psalm 139: 7 & 14

Sometimes, we simply need a reminder that God is there.  When something terrible happens, we usually hear two phrases of comfort: “God is in control” and “God is with you.”  There is a popular praise song with the lyric “In the good times and bad you are on your thrown.  You are God alone.”  While this is a great song, when I feel like the world is closing in around me, the last thing I want to imagine is God sitting up on His throne just watching me.

I guess it depends on your view of God.  Some see Him as an authoritative judge passing out sentences to everyone that breaks the rules.  Others see Him as a shepherd carefully watching over His sheep.  Some see Him as a father figure who is there to hold us when we fall down a skin our knees.  Maybe you have a Santa Claus God that just waits on us to ask Him for favors or miracles.

I go through stages in my life where God can be one or even all of these characters, but overall, I just like the security of knowing that God is there with me.

What gives you more peace – knowing that God is in control or feeling His presence?

Leave a Reply

