Lukewarm

On Monday, when I left for work, there was frost on my windows.  How exciting.  The first frost of the season.  I grabbed the ice scraper out of the trunk of my car and started scraping.  Within a few seconds, my hands were freezing, but I decided to scrape the ice off my wife’s car as well.  Stars in my crown.

That night when my wife got home, I asked, “Weren’t you glad I scraped the ice off your windows for you?”  “What ice?” she replied.

Little did I realize that within the 2 hour difference between the time I left for work and she left, the temperature rose from 35 to 73 degrees.  My work went unnoticed.

Have you ever done a good deed, but no one noticed?  That’s just a bonus question – not the main point.

What this post is really about is how the weather can’t make up its mind right now.  I am a big fan of the cold weather, and I am also a big fan of temperatures in the low 70s, but when you combine the two everyday, that just gets annoying.  Make up your mind.  Do I need my jacket today, or not?

Let’s look at the book of Revelation.  To the church in Laodicea, it says, “I know your deeds, that you are neither cold nor hot. I wish you were either one or the other!  So, because you are lukewarm—neither hot nor cold—I am about to spit you out of my mouth” (Rev. 3:15-16).  What’s the point of this verse?  Well, God doesn’t like cold mixed with hot either, specifically when it comes to faith.

Think about it – coffee is only good served two ways: hot or cold.  If you let it sit for too long, it’s terrible.  The taste is the same, but the temperature ruins the experience.  In the same way, your “faith temperature” can be a deal-breaker for God.

Reasonably speaking, we all have periods in our lives where our faith is like a roller-coaster ride (that’s normal), but that’s not what the issue is with the church in Laodicea.  Their problem was that they acted like they had everything taken care of (they were hot), but on the inside they were “wretched, pitiful, poor, blind and naked” (Rev. 3:17).

Be transparent.  It doesn’t make sense to put an iced coffee in to a Styrofoam cup emblazoned with “CAUTION: VERY HOT!!”  Be real.  Let people see it.

Leave a Reply

