Potluck

There’s something special about potlucks. In college I even had the bright idea to create a t-shirt about potlucks. Ideas without action produce little results, so no t-shirts were made. It would have been epic. That might be my biggest regret from my college experience.

As a kid, I remember loving the Sundays when our church was having a potluck. The sermon seemed better. The music sounded better. The building smelled fantastic. With more than 1,000 people in attendance, you knew there would be plenty of good food. However, it also seemed like the closing prayers lasted longer when there were hundreds of casseroles and desserts waiting to be devoured.

Last night, my wife and I hosted the first of two potlucks that are scheduled for this week, and it was awesome: salad, green beans, potato casserole, sweet potato casserole, squash casserole, poppy seed chicken, rolls, brownies, and sweet potato pie. Looking back on it, I now realize that’s a lot of potatoes and casseroles.

Potlucks are a perfect representation of community. Everyone brings something significant and exciting – a favorite food item, a secret family recipe, something brand new – and everyone shares. It gives others the opportunity to try something new; for example, I had sweet potato pie for the first time in my life last night. Welcome to the south. There’s always good food and even better conversations.

It’s more fun if it’s a potluck.

The catch is that you have to bring something to enjoy the full potluck experience. Otherwise, you’re freeloading off a free buffet. That’s not the same. That’s almost as bad as breaking a child’s toy on his birthday before he even has a chance to play with it.

Think about how that applies to your life. Obviously, the food part does not have to be in the picture (I’m using symbolism here), but are you actively involved in a community? Is there a sense of community with your friends, church, family, or business?

What’s missing?

Maybe someone needs to make a casserole.

Potlucks are the best. If you disagree, host one, and give it a try.

2 comments

  1. This is so true! Potlucks reveal so much about your friends or community members that you’d never find out about otherwise. A great way to break the ice. It’s not too late for those t-shirts, you know.
    (I found this via your Dad on FB! I’m glad I followed the link!)

  2. So true. I haven’t been to a potluck in a while and this makes me want to host/find one.

    Just wanted to drop a comment also to let you know I enjoy your posts and to keep up the good work. Its difficult to be fresh with insightful content but you’re doing an excellent job.

Leave a Reply

