Success

For as long as I can remember, I have always noticed the pressures to be successful – get good grades, score more points, go to college, earn a 6-figure income. There’s plenty more that you can add to this list of things that society praises.

Sometimes, I get this gut feeling that I’m not measuring up. It is as if a voice in my head says that there’s more to be done. I’m not there yet.

But what is the true measure of success?

In his book Quiet Strength, Tony Dungy writes, “God gives each one of us unique gifts, abilities, and passions. How well we use those qualities to have an impact of the world around us determines how ‘successful’ we really are.”

I can handle that. There’s really no pressure to it.

“And whatever you do, whether in word or deed, do it all in the name of the Lord Jesus, giving thanks to God the Father through him.” -Colossians 3:17

Leave a Reply

