Spin Class

I attended my first spin class ever at the YMCA yesterday, and it wasn’t that bad.  It was much more pleasant than I expected.  Ever since I joined the “Y” (that’s what the cool kids call it) last year, I passed by the spin class with mixed emotions: “I should do that,” and “No way!”

I thought that spin class was like boot camp on wheels.  I knew there was an instructor barking orders at everyone.  I knew there was loud music.  I knew most people usually exited class with a minor limp.  It simply didn’t seem like something I wanted to be a part of…

…Until my wife said, “We should do a spin class tonight.”

There’s no turning back at that point.  It was a similar statement that convinced me to run two half-marathons.  I had been challenged.  There was no backing down.

Let’s do this.

My three concerns above were all addressed.  The instructor wasn’t barking orders; I was never called a “jack wagon.”  She looked more like a Starbucks barista than a spin class instructor.  She mostly just told us when to pop up out of the saddle and adjust the resistance to make the ride more difficult.  Easy enough.

Yes, there was loud music, but not at all what I expected.  I presumed the music would make you feel like you were riding through a rave or Abercrombie & Fitch, but the mix was a softer blend of Pink, Sister Hazel, and Maroon 5.  Not intimidating in the slightest.

I got the last one right.  Most people do walk out with a limp, but that has nothing to do with muscles being sore.  Those bike seats are treacherous.  Moving on.

Ultimately, through participating in a spin class, I learned that it wasn’t that bad.  I will admit it was a difficult work out, but I enjoyed it, and I can see the benefits that it will have.

It got me thinking about other things in life that I have avoided because of false expectations – too difficult, too boring, too simple, too time-consuming.  Once I actually completed those tasks, I realized they weren’t as bad as I made them out to be.

Last year, I made a goal to read 24 books in 2010.  For those that know me, that is probably more books than I have read in my entire life.  I set it as a pretty lofty goal, but it was actually a lot easier than I expected.

My high school English teacher, Leiland Jaynes, sometimes said, “Do the thing, and you will have power.”  It was probably a quote from another person, but I’ll give him the credit.

With action, we learn the truth beyond our expectations.

Leave a Reply

