Alone

I have very few detailed memories from my glory days as a high school basketball player. Those four years seem to be a blur, but there are some events that I will never forget: our underdog victory against Cypress Community, nearly getting in a fight, my buzzer-beater fade away jumper to beat John Cooper by one point, my highest scoring game, and diving into the bench to save a ball that was going out of bounds.

All these memories bring back a rush of excitement and energy, but the things that I remember most from those years are our fans.

During my junior and senior seasons, our team did not lose a single home game, and I give a lot of the credit to our fans. For a school with less than 300 high school students, our fans filled the gym pretty well, and they usually overflowed into the visitor seating area. They even developed their own cheers and chants to heckle our opponents.

Our fans made every game so much more exciting.

One thing I love about this time of year, which I sometimes refer to as the “holiday season” to include Thanksgiving, Christmas, and New Year’s, is all of the parties with family and friends.

After a night with family and friends, I began musing about how blessed we are to have such great people around us. It is very encouraging to know that I’m not living my life alone.

It breaks my heart to meet and hear stories about “fringe people.” These are the people on the outside who appear to have no connection to anyone else; they simply hover around with no one to hold on to.

One of my clients is a man who was divorced about 30 years ago. He lives out in the country with his dog. He never sees his children or his grandchildren. He goes through life alone. Maybe it’s the extrovert in me, but that sounds terrible.

God never intended for us to be alone. Adam had Eve. Moses had Aaron. Jesus had the twelve apostles. Paul had Barnabas. In Acts 2, the first Christ-followers were given the Church. God has Jesus and the Holy Spirit. Theology and the Bible point us in the direction of community.

Just like my high school basketball career, I won’t remember every event of my life. Certain memories will stick out, but I’ll always remember the fans.

Leave a Reply

