May 21

According to Harold Camping and his cronies, Judgment Day has been scheduled for May 21, 2011.  My birthday is May 18, so I will still be expecting presents.  Don’t think that you get a free pass on giving me birthday presents just because Jesus is coming back three days later.

I simply think this whole situation is rather comical.  When I first heard of this, my mind immediately remembered a passage in Matthew 24: “But about that day or hour no one knows, not even the angels in heaven, nor the Son, but only the Father.  As it was in the days of Noah, so it will be at the coming of the Son of Man.”  Ok, I only remembered the “day or hour no one knows” part, so I had to look up the rest.

But the point is pretty clear.  No one knows when it will happen, so if we have it on our calendars, then I don’t think it’s going to happen.

Even if God had in on His heavenly calendar, upon hearing this He probably turned to all the angels and said, “Well, folks, it looks like we’re going to have to reschedule.  They’re onto us.”

Maybe He didn’t say it exactly like that.  It was probably in Hebrew.

However, the verse does point out that it will be like the great flood and Noah.  Noah knew what was going on because God told him there would be a major flood to wipe out the world.  Is is possible that Harold Camping could be the stand-in for Noah in this situation?  People made fun of Noah for building an ark, but he was right.  This makes my mind spin.

I just want to hear what your thoughts are on this.  Leave a comment below.

Have you even heard anything about this?

Do you think this is silly or something to be taken seriously?

Will you still get me a birthday present even with the threat of Judgment Day?

Leave a Reply

