Brake Lights

Earlier this week, I realized that my right brake light and the high-mount brake light in my car were both out. Since it is physically impossible for me to push the brake pedal while standing behind my car, I had no idea they were out until I saw my reflection in the window of my bank.

Brake lights aren’t like your tires. Just walk up to your car, and you can tell if your tires are low. For the brake lights, it’s a whole new ball game. Typically, you only know your brake lights are out if someone tells you or you see your reflection.

Looking back on it, I guess that’s why so many people have been flashing their high-beams at me when I slow down. That’s been going on for weeks.

The truth is, I have no idea how long I have been driving with 2/3 of my brake lights out. I been driving around as a potential danger to myself and thousands of other motorists, and I didn’t even realize it.

Matthew 19 tells the story of a guy who needed a reminder to replace his brake lights. A rich guy approaches Jesus and asks, “What good thing must I do to get eternal life?” After a few verses we find out that this guy is pretty “righteous.” This guy is good. He keeps all the commandments. All of them.

His car is running just fine.

Jesus responds by telling the rich guy to sell his possessions, put his treasures in heaven, and follow him. This is the Biblical parallel of a curve ball. This rich guy has been crushing fastballs of righteousness out of the park. He’s headed to the Hall of Fame.

Then he finds out his brake lights are out.

Something is missing. Something needs to be fixed. Verse 22 points out that the guy “went away sad.” He chose to get back out on the highway with his brake lights out.

If you looked at your faith, what brake lights is God telling you to fix/replace?

One comment

  1. Isn’t it a good thing as Christians God puts people on our “roads” to guide us (provide “brake repair”) when we need it. We just have to pay attention – stay alert (stay in His word).

Leave a Reply

