Difference of One

While watching the Today Show this morning, this commercial came on.  As my focus bounced between the television and my Honey Nut Cheerios, I found myself putting down my spoon to pay attention a little more closely to the message of this commercial from the Church of Scientology.

It’s amazing what one person can do.

1 educated person is 57% more likely to volunteer, 2 times more likely to keep a job, and will earn up to three times more than a non-educated person.

1 empowered person is 67% more active to defend against abuse, and 85% more likely to be listened to and respected.

1 moral person is 70% more likely to have a successful marriage.

Those Scientologists really know their statistics.

I’m not encouraging you to go join the Church of Scientology with Tom Cruise, but it is pretty cool to see how involved they are to have a positive impact on the world.  They sponsor programs for tutoring, mentoring, drug and human rights education, and criminal reform that help more than 2.2 million people each day. That’s a pretty big web of influence.

They meet people in their own situations.  They build relationships.  They help them.  It’s a pretty good formula for evangelism.  They make it personal, then, over time, they share the massage.  In college I once heard someone say, “A beggar can’t hear you preaching the Gospel because his stomach is growling too loud.”

In Matthew 25:35-36 Jesus says, “For I was hungry and you gave me something to eat, I was thirsty and you gave me something to drink, I was a stranger and you invited me in, I needed clothes and you clothed me, I was sick and you looked after me, I was in prison and you came to visit me.”

He goes on to say, “Truly I tell you, whatever you did for one of the least of these brothers and sisters of mine, you did for me” (Matt. 25:41).

Besides Sunday school, worship services, and Bible studies, what does your church do that is actively connecting to the community?

What are some other ways the Church can reach out?

Leave a Reply

