Lord or Savior

I love technology. I’m currently sitting between the crafts and sporting good sections of Wal-Mart, and thanks to You Version, I just completed my daily Bible study about discipleship. (Insert a humble brag for doing a daily Bible study here.)

Today’s topic was about Jesus as Lord and Savior, and I came to some pretty eye-opening conclusions.

We love that Jesus is our Savior, but we sometimes resent the fact that he is Lord, too.

Over the past few weeks, our life group has been going through Francis Chan’s DVD series, “Basic.” It is a 3 DVD set discussing God, Jesus, and the Holy Spirit. The one that has hit me the most so far was the lesson about following Jesus.

What does it look like to follow Jesus?

Well, how do you play follow the leader? Do everything the leader does. So, how do you follow Jesus?

It’s simple, but it’s not easy. Do I have to do everything Jesus did? How much do I have to do? Do I have to give people clothes and take care of widows and orphans?

I realized that I call myself a “Christ-follower,” but I don’t really play follow the leader very well. There’s plenty of things that I don’t do that Jesus did. How much better would my life be if I did follow Jesus? How would that affect the people around me?

As Christians, we embrace the idea that Jesus is our Savior, but we still have to follow our Lord. Historically, a lord had the power to tell others what to do. He was the man in charge.

I don’t always like for God to be in charge.

Save me. Let me go to Heaven, but I want to do my own thing here on earth. I follow Jesus’ “example” and try to live like him, but I struggle with giving him the power he deserves as Lord.

I need a Savior, but I don’t want a Lord. Unfortunately, it doesn’t work that way.

Do you wrestle with this, too?

Leave a Reply

