Angry Old Lady

There is an elderly lady that lives around the corner.  When I go running in our neighborhood, I usually see her out in her garden, mowing the grass, or taking care of her flowers.  Well, over the weekend, her flowers were maliciously attacked, and she posted the following message at the end of her driveway for all to see on a large poster:

Dear God, please kill all the people who killed my flowers for no reason.  Sentence them to Psalm 109.  Kill them all, Lord, and I will praise your name forever.  In the holy name of Jesus I pray – Amen.

In a perfect world, I would have taken a picture and simply posted it on Twitter, but she lives on a busy street, and I didn’t want to cause a wreck.  Also, if I did stop to take a picture, I was afraid that she would call the legions of angels from heaven to take me out.

I did a little research, and Psalm 109 is not one of those “My name is David, and I play the harp” kind of psalms.  Here’s an excerpt: “When he is tried, let him be found guilty, and may his prayers condemn him.  May his days be few; may another take his place of leadership.  May his children be fatherless and his wife a widow” (Psalm 109:7-9).

Ouch.

What are your thoughts?  Is this lady overreacting?

Leave a Reply

