Buckle Up

We couldn’t decide who was going to get to write this post. So in true marital harmony we arm wrestled duked it out and decided we both would. Enjoy this rare occasion. Sorry it’s kind of long.

Sunday’s church service was a double-whammy of relevance for us. We sang the song “Oceans (Where Feet May Fail)” by Hillsong United, and the preacher reviewed the story of Abraham as he left everything to follow God’s call. I know what you’re thinking: “Are they leaving everything to go live in the ocean?” No.

The song goes a little something like this:

You call me out upon the waters
The great unknown where feet may fail
And there I find You in the mystery
In oceans deep
My faith will stand

Spirit lead me where my trust is without borders
Let me walk upon the waters
Wherever You would call me
Take me deeper than my feet could ever wander
And my faith will be made stronger
In the presence of my Savior

Over the past few months, you have patiently read through numerous posts about God’s purpose for our lives, what we are supposed to do post-Africa-trip, and what it means to live like Jesus in the 21st Century. We’re still figuring it out. Bit by bit we are finding ways to live out acts of faith in love. It’s a fun/uncomfortable/mysterious process; I highly recommend it. We’ve wrestled with the tension of living out God’s call to “go and make disciples of all nations” (Matthew 28:19), and we’ve looked for ways to live with a global mindset and serve locally.

This song and the story of Abraham (which I wrote about here) speak to our willingness to be faithful and follow the call of God into unknown places. From the time God made his covenant to Abraham about being the father of many nations until the time when things actually started to happen, 24 years passed. God’s timing is confusing.

As Courtney alluded to in her tattoo post, we are saying “Yes” to God. Two weeks ago, we officially started the process to adopt a child from Uganda. At this point, we have more questions than answers, but we feel like this is what God is calling us to do. There are already stacks of papers to fill out and submit, background checks and physical exams to schedule, and many checks to be written (yes, adoption costs money…lots of it).

The next 1.5-2 years or so are going to fun, stressful, exciting, and annoying for our family. But when God calls you to do something, there is peace in saying, “Yes.”

Here’s Courtney’s thoughts on the whole thing (this should be fun)…

So, we’re starting the adoption process. WHAT!? Apparently you people care way more than I do about our lives. After my tattoo post we had multiple friends be like, “Sooo, we’re placing bets on what y’all said yes to… Adoption? Moving? ????!” So for those of you who bet adoption. You, my friends are correct. I hope you bet money.

So basically at any given moment I am feeling, thinking, or saying at least 3 of the following things:
We’re really doing this!!!
AHHHH. (Excited)
I’m so excited!
I want to throw up.
WHAT ARE WE DOING!?
I’m so scared.
AHHHH. (Terrified)

Dustin said everything much more rationally and eloquently than I ever could. So I want to take a moment to address some questions that have been posed to us:

1. Do you have a kid picked out?
No. We’re open to a boy or girl, any age, and possibly a sibling set. All we know right now is Uganda.

2. Could you guys not have kids?
Great question. We don’t know. We’ve never “tried” to have kids.

3. Do you want kids of your own?
Still up for debate. Between Dustin and I. Not you.

4. Why adoption?
I’ve known since I was little that I would have black kids. It’s weird, I know. We really feel like we’re supposed to. It’s a God thing. I can’t really explain it.

5. Why Uganda?
We felt pushed towards Uganda. I just feel like we have kid there. It’s hard to explain.

6. Where are y’all in the process?
We’ve been accepted by an agency in NC. Now we start the home study process (which basically deems us as not crazy people who can successfully raise kids). The home study will take 2-3 months during which time we will be collecting documents for our dossier (every legal thing about your life you can imagine). Then we will be put on a waiting list and wait for a referral (a kid).

7. How much does it cost?
This is me writing a number on a napkin and sliding it across the table to you… $25,000.

8. Do you have that much money?
Ha. NO. If we had $25,000 I would have told God to hold the phone as we went and traveled to Italy. Then we would have come back and adopted a kid.

9. How are you going to pay for it?
We are obviously saving everything we can and we will be fundraising (YAYYY!!!… said no one ever.) and applying for grants.

We could definitely use your prayers. Satan is AWESOME at getting in my head and making me anxious, fearful, and doubtful. Throw on up a prayer for us. We could use them.

We’ll be using this blog to keep people updated on the process. Don’t worry, this will not be the ONLY thing we blog about anymore.

Here goes nothing, y’all.

C & D

13 comments

  1. Well obviously adoption was in your future since Dustin is way to “light skinned” to meet your goals Courtney! lol YEA to you for making it YOUR decision. Praying and hoping to be a part of your journey. LOVE

  2. Awesome! I love this and am so excited for you both! For what its worth, as soon as I say the “yes” tattoo, I was pretty certain it was going to be adoption. Soooo, I should have put some benjamins on it. 🙂 Seriously though, your “yes” has really inspired and moved me all over again. Thanks for sharing this.

  3. We are so happy for y’all! It’s been so fun to be a part of this journey. Love how God started preparing you for this and knitting your hearts to Uganda long before you ever knew your child would be from there. We’re already praying for your child and for you two!

  4. It is so difficult to remain humble when feeling proud & boastful! It goes without saying that you are both wonderful & amazing. A child will be blessed to have you for parents. Praying for you all in this new adventure in faith & love.

Leave a Reply

