Whooah, We’re Half Way There

20130717-131202.jpg
Everybody now: Whooah, we’re half way there. Livin’ on a prayer. Take my hand and we’ll make it- I swear. Livin’ on a prayer.

That was fun, right!?

So, my thoughts are all over the place these days. I’ve been thinking a lot about Treyvon and how, as a future mama of black children, his story affects our family in so many ways. I’ve been thinking a lot about how a year ago we were in Uganda on a trip that would literally change our lives forever. I’ve been thinking a lot about our sweet kiddo that’s out there somewhere. And I’ve been thinking about this puzzle.

Let’s just talk about the last two today. Okay?

I can’t think about this puzzle without getting choked up. Y’all are crazy. In two weeks we have sold OVER HALF OF THE PUZZLE PIECES. As of last night 381 of the 550 pieces are gone! What in the world?? I’ve cried more than one time standing in the middle of the street while opening checks that have come in the mail. Dustin and I have sent several high five text messages to each other. We’ve said more than a handful of times, “we know some good people.” Y’all are just crazy.

Thank you for loving us well right now. We have felt so much confirmation that this is really what we are supposed to be doing. Thanks for letting Jesus use you. We feel honored and humbled.

There are 169 puzzle pieces left. I started writing names on the pieces yesterday. I am so excited this puzzle will hang in our child’s room. I am so excited that each of your names are on it. I cannot wait to tell our child about childhood friends, college roommates and friends, neighbors, family, high school friends, dear family friends, and friends of sweet friends. I just love it so much. (If you want to be a part of this puzzle you can click here, and it will take you to the original blog post that will explain what we’re doing and has information on how to buy a puzzle piece.)

While I’m so excited about this puzzle and how much this is helping us bring our child home, I also have a heavy heart. I’ve been praying a lot for our sweet kiddo. I’ve been praying that if they are alive right now, that Jesus will protect them and keep them safe. I’ve been praying that they know they are loved. Loved by Jesus, us, and you all. I’ve been praying that someone is holding them tight, giving them kisses, loving on them when they cry, and making them laugh. I’ve been praying that if our kiddo isn’t born yet, that He would protect their sweet momma. That she would know she is loved by Jesus, us, and you all. I’ve been praying that she has people in her life who are loving her well. That He would surround her with people who will hug her, laugh, and cry with her. That she will choose life. Life for her sweet baby and life in Jesus Christ.

Ugh. These are hard prayers to pray. They make my heart hurt. My eyes get full of tears.

Will you join us? Will you pray for our kiddo and their momma?

That’s all I’ve got today. Puzzles and hard prayers. Y’all are the best.

For a direct link to our PayPal account where you can purchase lots of puzzle pieces for $20 a piece or make a donation to our adoption fund, click here.

CK

Leave a Reply

