Because You’re Doing A Great Job

I don’t care about your schedule, if you have one or if you don’t. I don’t care if the same things happen at the same time every day or if they just happen when they happen. You’re doing a great job.

I don’t care if you breast feed. I don’t care if you buy formula. I don’t care how long you do either of those. You’re doing a great job.

I don’t care if you’ve ever flung poop onto a check out counter and acted like it didn’t happen, and I don’t care if you don’t have a clue what that experience is like. You’re doing a great job.

I don’t care if you let your kid cry sometimes. I don’t care if you never do. You’re doing a great job.

I don’t care if you’ve ever had middle of the night fights with your husband over that tiny human you both love, who won’t stop crying and won’t sleep ever, and neither of you know what to do other than fire cuss words at each other. I don’t care if you’ve got the no sleep up all night with a crying kid for all of the nights figured out. You’re doing a great job.

I don’t care if your kiddo goes to a private school or a public school. I don’t care if you home school. You’re doing a great job.

I don’t care if you co-sleep or if you don’t. I don’t care if you sometimes co-sleep because sleep is golden no matter how it goes down. I don’t care if your baby sleeps in your room or in another room. You’re doing a great job.

I don’t care if you work or if you stay at home or if you work from home. I don’t care if your kid is in day care or has a nanny or stays with your mom. I don’t care if you went back to work because you had to or if you decided you wanted to. I don’t care why you’re staying home. You’re doing a great job.

I don’t care if you’ve ever yelled at your kid. I don’t care if you haven’t. You’re doing a great job.

I don’t care if you buy only organic. I don’t care if you buy canned vegetables. I don’t care if hot dog consumption is at an all time high in your house. I don’t care if you make dinner every night or if take out is the name of your game. You’re doing a great job.

I don’t care if you put your kid in time out. I don’t care if you spank. I don’t care if y’all just talk it out. You’re doing a great job.

I don’t care if your kid throws a tantrum at my house or at the park or at the grocery store. I don’t care if they never have the one meltdown not ever. You’re doing a great job.

I don’t care if you’ve showered or if you haven’t. I don’t care if you’re in work out clothes always or if you put actual real life clothes on the majority of the time. You’re doing a great job.

I don’t care if your kid watches TV or if they’ve never seen a TV show a day in their life. You’re doing a great job.

I don’t care if there are dishes in your sink or clothes piled high in your laundry room. I don’t care if the dishes and the laundry are always put away. I don’t care if your floors are kind of sticky or if they are mopped weekly. I don’t care if there are toys all over your house or if they’re thrown all in one room. You’re doing a great job.

I don’t care if dinner is a 4 or 5 or 7. I don’t care if the time you serve dinner is solely based on how the afternoon goes. You’re doing a great job.

I don’t care if you’re smack dab in the middle of a really hard season as a parent and I don’t care if you aren’t. I don’t care if you don’t really know what that means either. You’re doing a great job.

I don’t care if you have absolutely no idea what you’re doing as a parent. I don’t care if you do. You’re doing a great job. 

I don’t care if being a mom is the hardest thing you’ve ever done, ever. I don’t care if it’s the easiest. I don’t care if you’ve found your mom groove yet or if you’re still waiting to find it. You’re doing a great job.

Because what I’m learning is that mom guilt and comparison are the easiest things in the world to engage in.They really are. I lie at the playground all the time because, guilt and comparison. (We can talk about that another time. I’m trying to quit.) I’ve almost had to get off Instagram because, guilt and comparison. I’m finding that it’s just so easy to forget that I’m doing a great job. I already am. 

And so are you. Because let’s be real, no matter how you’re playing this mom game? You’re doing a great job. Promise. 

Leave a Reply

