Go Forth And Have No Fear

I have straight up agonized over this post… Thought about it, prayed about it, talked circles around it, put off writing it. What do we say? How much do we say? How do we say it? How do we really do this again? Will people rally one more time? What if they don’t? What.If.They.Don’t? And every time I started to panic about it, I just felt this gentle nudge that said: “Go forth and have no fear.” And so this post is just that.

Part of me wants to tell you about how we’ve always known our family would grow through adoption, like multiple ones. And then I kind of want to tell you about how we’ve always wanted Wyatt to share the same skin color as other people in our family, how that’s just so important to us. I thought about telling you that I so desperately want Wyatt to share something with a sibling, and how I so desperately want that something to be Uganda. I wanted to tell you about how many times we’ve almost talked ourselves out of it, how many times we’ve looked at each other and said: “Are we crazy? Are you still okay with this? Are we about to F everything up?”

And then I thought about sharing how we got to right here- how many months ago we started talking about doing this all over again and how much research we did before being pulled right back to Uganda. I kind of want to tell you about how many hours we spent looking at other countries and talking to people in the foster care system and then how close we were to saying yes to four siblings in Ethiopia. And then another part of me wants to just list the ways Wyatt has changed and grown simply by being in a family, and then how much he has changed us just by being in ours. But at the end of the day I just don’t know how much any of that really matters right now. Maybe if we were having this conversation over coffee or you were at my kitchen table or we were sitting on my front porch with a glass of wine, then maybe. But even then I don’t know.

But what I do know is this: Kids belong in families. They belong in Black families and white families and Hispanic families. They belong in American families and African families and European families. They belong in Christian families and Catholic families and I don’t believe in anything families. Kids belong in families. Every time. They just do. (Obviously they also belong in safe families.)

The hard thing about adoption for me is that it’s so easy to say no. It’s so easy to agonize over it and overthink it. There are a million different ways you can talk yourself out of it. There are four trillion legitimate reasons to be scared and apprehensive and to want to just call it quits on the whole dang thing.

But when I look at our life- our house, our families, our people-there is so much laughter and love and goodness to go around. And I can’t stop thinking about how much it’s not that crazy to want to share it all with another little human being who needs a family. I don’t think it’s all that crazy to say: Alright I’m willing and I’m able, here I am send me. I’m scared and I’m nervous and I don’t know exactly how this is all going to work, but here I am send me.

And so here we are… paperwork has been filled out, background checks have been run, fingerprints have been given, physicals have been had, birth certificates have been ordered, and our one and only home study visit has been scheduled… officially adopting #2 from Uganda. (!)

wy

Can we talk about his cheese game, though?

We’re excited and nervous and expectant of what is to come. We’re all of the things right now. Every last one of them. A friend texted me the other night and said: “Excited to see God weave another beautifully broken and redemptive story into your lives again.” And that made me tear up because, yes. That though. Because kids belong in families, you know?

P.S. The puzzle fundraiser is making another appearance. (And all the people said, “Hooray!!” Right? You totally just said all of the hoorays.) But seriously it is. Because we can’t do this without you guys, on the real.

4 comments

Leave a Reply

