When October Is Weird 

A few weeks ago I straight up burst into tears at the dinner table over JT. I don’t think I’ve cried about him since I was in Uganda. (Oh hi, almost a year ago… What!?) But we were talking about adoption and we were talking about Koctar number two and I just burst into tears. Because he was technically number one and so this is really Koctar number three, but it’s also not and that’s just still so weird. And so I cried about it because I can, ya know? Dustin just looked at me and said: “No one will ever replace him.” Bless him. And then I cried some more because, yes.

It’s a weird thing- losing a kid and then gaining one. I think about him always and I think about him never. Life looks so different and it feels so right, and yet there is still this tiny little JT size hole that will always make me wonder- wonder what life would have been like with him. I wonder what he looks like now and what his favorite color is and if he still loves to color. I wonder what his favorite subject is and if he still has that contagious laugh. I wonder if he has someone to call mom and dad and if he still gives great hugs. Because when you lose something that’s still living it just makes you wonder. And so sometimes I do.

We don’t talk about him very much anymore. I don’t constantly think about him. I don’t pray for him every single day like I once thought I would. My heart doesn’t physically hurt anymore. I feel a little bit sad about all of that. I also feel a little bit okay about all of that, too.

I think about him in October because that’s when we said Yes to him and that’s the thing that changed everything- that Yes did. I don’t regret that Yes, it just changed my heart and change is always a little bit hard.

And so I bought a wind chime and hung it up in our backyard in his honor. My heart needed to acknowledge him and for some reason a wind chime made sense.

And then when I took this picture tonight I just kept thinking: this life- this crazy, beautiful, hard, chaotic life that we have right now- it’s because of you, kid. And so for that very reason you’ll always have a spot in my heart. And I’m totally okay with that.

See you next October, buddy.

Leave a Reply

